• Cars
    +12K
  • About
  • Blog
Add car
Add car
  1. Home
  2. Blog
  3. News
  4. 2027 Toyota Crown Gets a New Hybrid System but Is Slightly Less Efficient
News

2027 Toyota Crown Gets a New Hybrid System but Is Slightly Less Efficient

Konstantin Lupandin
Konstantin Lupandin
July 25, 20263 min readViews 359
Add as preferred source
  1. What Changed in the Toyota Crown Hybrid System
  2. How Much Did the Published Fuel Economy Change?
  3. Hybrid MAX Remains Exclusive to the Platinum
  4. How the Prices and Trim Levels Changed
  5. The Exterior Update Is Focused and Limited
  6. What Remains Unchanged
  7. The Key Question About the 2027 Toyota Crown

Contents

  1. What Changed in the Toyota Crown Hybrid System
  2. How Much Did the Published Fuel Economy Change?
  3. Hybrid MAX Remains Exclusive to the Platinum
  4. How the Prices and Trim Levels Changed
  5. The Exterior Update Is Focused and Limited
  6. What Remains Unchanged
  7. The Key Question About the 2027 Toyota Crown
2027 Toyota Crown Gets a New Hybrid System but Is Slightly Less Efficient

Frequently asked questions

The XLE, Limited, and Nightshade trims receive Toyota’s fifth-generation THS 5 system. The Platinum retains the more powerful Hybrid MAX system.

The XLE, Limited, and Nightshade are rated at 40 mpg combined for 2027, compared with 41 mpg for the 2026 model—approximately 5.9 versus 5.7 L/100 km. This is a published rating, and the article says it does not establish that the 2027 model will use more fuel in identical real-world conditions.

Toyota has not disclosed the THS 5 system’s total output, battery capacity, or the 2027 Crown’s acceleration time. The article also says independent tests are needed for a fuller assessment.

On July 23, 2026, Toyota unveiled the updated Crown for the North American market. The XLE, Limited, and Nightshade versions received the fifth-generation THS 5 hybrid system, while the Platinum trim retained the more powerful Hybrid MAX setup. At the same time, the official combined fuel-economy rating for the base hybrid changed from 41 to 40 mpg.

The difference is small: converted to more familiar units, it is approximately 5.7 versus 5.9 L/100 km. Still, the change is unusual because the new-generation hybrid system did not improve the published fuel-economy figure. Here is what actually changed and what Toyota has not yet disclosed.

What Changed in the Toyota Crown Hybrid System

According to Toyota's official announcement dated July 23, 2026, the Crown XLE, Limited, and Nightshade are now equipped with the THS 5 system. It combines a 2.5-liter gasoline engine, two motor-generators, a continuously variable transmission, and a separate rear electric motor for the Electronic On-Demand AWD system.

The electronically controlled braking system combines regenerative braking with conventional hydraulic braking. During deceleration, some of the vehicle's kinetic energy is returned to the traction battery. The same basic principle was used before, so the main change is not the overall layout but the move to a new generation of components and calibration.

Toyota has not yet disclosed the THS 5 system's total output, battery capacity, or the 2027 Crown's acceleration time. The official release does not show whether the vehicle is quicker than the previous 236-horsepower version. Toyota only says that the system has a more responsive character. The paddle shifters added to all three trims are also intended to support that feel.

How Much Did the Published Fuel Economy Change?

The 2026 Toyota Crown with the previous hybrid system was rated at 41 mpg combined. That figure appears in the official specifications for the 2026 model. For the 2027 Crown with THS 5, Toyota lists a 40 mpg rating.

Version

Powertrain

Combined fuel economy

Approx. L/100 km

2026 Crown XLE, Limited, and Nightshade

2.5 L, Toyota Hybrid System

41 mpg

5.7 L/100 km

2027 Crown XLE, Limited, and Nightshade

2.5 L, THS 5

40 mpg

5.9 L/100 km

2027 Crown Platinum

2.4 L Turbo Hybrid MAX

Not yet listed for 2027

Not disclosed

A 1 mpg decrease equals a difference of approximately 2.4%. In real-world driving, weather, speed, terrain, tire pressure, and acceleration habits can have a greater effect on fuel consumption. In addition, this is a preliminary EPA estimate cited by the manufacturer, not a comparative road test of two vehicles.

The phrase “less efficient” applies only to the published combined rating. Without independent measurements, it is not possible to claim that the 2027 Crown will necessarily use more fuel under identical real-world conditions.

Hybrid MAX Remains Exclusive to the Platinum

The range-topping Platinum trim has not switched to THS 5. It retains the Hybrid MAX system with a 2.4-liter turbocharged engine, front and rear electric motors, and a six-speed automatic transmission.

The system produces 340 hp and 400 lb-ft, or approximately 542 Nm. Full-Time Electronic AWD continuously redistributes torque between the axles. The Platinum also includes adaptive suspension, dynamic rear-wheel steering, 21-inch wheels, and a 10-inch head-up display.

Toyota did not provide the 2027 Crown's Hybrid MAX fuel-economy rating in the July release. The 2026 model had an official combined rating of 30 mpg, but that figure cannot automatically be carried over to the new model year.

How the Prices and Trim Levels Changed

All four versions continue to feature all-wheel drive. Toyota published base prices excluding the mandatory $1,295 processing and delivery fee.

Trim

2026 price

2027 price

Change

XLE

$41,440

$41,640

+$200

Limited

$45,950

$49,720

+$3,770

Nightshade

$48,765

$48,965

+$200

Platinum

$54,990

$55,190

+$200

The Crown Limited received the most substantial price increase. Along with the higher price, it gained a panoramic-view camera system, Traffic Jam Assist and Digital Key support, lane-change assistance, front cross-traffic alert, multi-beam LED headlights, and an 11-speaker JBL audio system. Some connected features require an active Toyota service trial or subscription and access to a mobile network.

The Limited now costs more than the Nightshade, even though the Nightshade is positioned above the XLE and focuses on styling. The choice between them essentially comes down to priorities: more advanced electronic driver-assistance features in the Limited, or the Nightshade's blacked-out design and 21-inch matte-black wheels.

The Exterior Update Is Focused and Limited

The Crown retains its raised sedan body, hammerhead-style front end, and familiar proportions. The main changes are at the rear: there is a different bumper, and on two-tone vehicles the trunk lid is now painted in the body color while the roof remains black.

Inked black has been added to the color palette. The Hybrid Electric Vehicle and AWD badges now have a satin finish. The Platinum comes standard with red brake calipers and black window trim, while the Nightshade receives additional black emblem overlays.

What Remains Unchanged

All trims retain the digital instrument cluster and 12.3-inch central display, wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, heated front and rear seats, ventilated front seats, and Qi wireless charging.

Toyota Safety Sense 3.0 remains standard equipment. It includes a pre-collision system with pedestrian detection, adaptive cruise control, lane control, road-sign recognition, and automatic high beams. These features assist the driver but do not make the Crown a self-driving vehicle.

Production will continue at the Tsutsumi plant in Japan. Hybrid components in the United States are covered for eight years or 100,000 miles, while the traction battery is covered for ten years or 150,000 miles. Toyota did not announce the 2027 Crown's arrival date at regular retail dealerships in its July 23 release.

The Key Question About the 2027 Toyota Crown

The update goes beyond a new bumper: the mainstream versions receive THS 5 and paddle shifters, while the Limited gets a noticeably richer equipment list. At the same time, the official combined fuel-economy rating falls from 41 to 40 mpg.

The new hybrid cannot be fully assessed until Toyota publishes its output and battery specifications and independent tests become available. For now, the 2027 Crown looks less like a more efficient version of the previous model and more like an attempt to make the base powertrain more responsive while keeping fuel consumption near 5.9 L/100 km.

Popular Toyota models

RAV 43,07KCamry2,18KCorolla2KTacoma1,97KPrius1,22K4Runner927Alphard871Corolla Cross791Sienta755Voxy706Highlander679Harrier662Aqua610Sienna555C-HR444Crown426Land Cruiser391Vellfire361Noah334Yaris Cross330Yaris318Raize296Sequoia271bZ4X258
Find Your Next Car Today
Explore hundreds of listings from verified dealers and private sellers. Smart filters, detailed car pages, and real-time updates - everything you need to make the right choice.
Go to Catalog

Other articles

Aston Martin Delays First EV Until 2033
News
Aston Martin’s First EV Delayed Until at Least 2033: Why the V8 and V12 Remain
October 03, 2026
2027 Honda Civic Type R: Track and City Updates
News
2027 Honda Civic Type R: What Changed for Track and Daily Driving
October 02, 2026
2027 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk: Off-Road Changes Explained
News
Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk Returns: What Has Changed for Off-Roading
October 01, 2026
New BMW 3 Series vs. i3: Key Differences
News
German cars
One Design, Two Architectures: How the New BMW 3 Series Differs from the i3
September 30, 2026
Volkswagen ID. Tiguan: What We Know About the ID.4 and ID.5 Replacement
News
German cars
Volkswagen ID. Tiguan Will Replace the ID.4 and ID.5: What We Know Before the Premiere
September 29, 2026
Next Toyota Corolla: Concept Facts and Production Predictions
News
Next Toyota Corolla: Where Facts End and Predictions Begin
September 28, 2026
Chevrolet Bolt: How Faster Charging Changes Road Trips
News
Chevrolet Bolt Charges Faster: What Changed for Long-Distance Travel
September 27, 2026
Audi A6 e-tron: what the 1,338 km record really means
News
German cars
Audi A6 e-tron travels 1,338 km without recharging: what the record means for everyday driving
September 26, 2026
Nissan PIXO: Specs and Launch Timeline for the City EV
News
Nissan PIXO Unveiled: What the City EV Offers and When Pricing Will Be Announced
September 25, 2026
Geely Smart Charging: What 2.25 MW Really Means
Chinese cars
News
Geely Unveils 2.25 MW Charging: How Much Power Reaches the Car
September 24, 2026
268.369 active cars
11.766 cars added today
24.929 sold cars last 24 hours
6.287 visits last month
28 visits last 24 hours
  • Cars
  • About us
  • Blog
  • Contacts
  • [email protected]
© 2026 zvelta
© 2026 zvelta
Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyInfo for dealers
Get it on Google PlayDownload on the App Store