• Cars
    +32K
  • About
  • Blog
Add car
Add car
  1. Home
  2. Blog
  3. News
  4. MG 07 PHEV: 245 km of CLTC electric range — what we know about the new fastback
NewsChinese cars

MG 07 PHEV: 245 km of CLTC electric range — what we know about the new fastback

Konstantin Lupandin
Konstantin Lupandin
August 10, 20264 min readViews 328
Add as preferred source
  1. The essentials in one minute
  2. From the first teaser to the hybrid version: key dates
  3. How the MG 07 PHEV powertrain works
  4. What a 245 km electric range means in practice
  5. How to assess whether this PHEV suits your routes
  6. Dimensions and interior
  7. What is the difference between the Comfort and LiDAR versions?
  8. What to find out before buying
  9. Will the MG 07 PHEV be sold outside China?
  10. Verdict

Contents

  1. The essentials in one minute
  2. From the first teaser to the hybrid version: key dates
  3. How the MG 07 PHEV powertrain works
  4. What a 245 km electric range means in practice
  5. How to assess whether this PHEV suits your routes
  6. Dimensions and interior
  7. What is the difference between the Comfort and LiDAR versions?
  8. What to find out before buying
  9. Will the MG 07 PHEV be sold outside China?
  10. Verdict
MG 07 PHEV: 245 km of CLTC electric range — what we know about the new fastback

On August 10, 2026, two plug-in hybrid versions of the MG 07 fastback appeared in MG’s Chinese online catalogue: the 245 Comfort Edition and 245 LiDAR Edition. The number refers to the claimed electric range of 245 km under the Chinese CLTC cycle. Automotive publications also report an estimated total range of 1,745 km with a fully charged battery and a full fuel tank.

The 245 km figure suggests that the car could cover several days of urban driving without using petrol, but it needs to be interpreted with some caution. This is a laboratory figure; the traction battery’s capacity and charging power have not yet been published, while the hybrid system may start the engine depending on temperature, load and the selected driving mode. The MG 07 PHEV’s price had also not been announced as of August 10, 2026.

The essentials in one minute

  • The MG 07 PHEV combines a naturally aspirated 1.5-litre petrol engine with a front-mounted electric motor.

  • The claimed electric range is 245 km under CLTC, while the total range is listed as 1,745 km.

  • The catalogue lists two versions: Comfort and LiDAR.

  • Battery capacity, charging specifications, fuel consumption with a depleted battery and export plans have not been disclosed.

From the first teaser to the hybrid version: key dates

MG revealed the project in stages, so early specifications reported for prototypes do not always match the information released closer to launch. The timeline below covers events linked to specific dates.

Date

Event

Information status

11.03.2026

MG published the first official teaser for the MG 07 and confirmed its new platform.

Official

24.04.2026

At the Beijing Auto Show, SAIC announced that the model would be offered with electric and plug-in hybrid powertrains.

Official

29.07.2026

Pre-orders opened in China for the electric MG 07. Its prices do not apply to the PHEV.

Reported by automotive publications

10.08.2026

MG 07 PHEV versions with the 245 designation and the first detailed specifications appeared in the Chinese catalogue.

Catalogue data documented by automotive publications

In SAIC’s announcement dated April 24, 2026, both types of powertrain are explicitly mentioned. The manufacturer also confirmed the Momenta R7 driver-assistance system with the XHEART X7 computing platform, but did not specify which functions would be assigned to each trim level.

How the MG 07 PHEV powertrain works

The published configuration combines a naturally aspirated 1.5-litre petrol engine with a single traction motor on the front axle. The engine produces 82 kW and 135 N·m, while the electric motor develops 152 kW and 302 N·m. Top speed is listed at 170 km/h.

Adding 82 and 152 kW together and calling the result the system output would be incorrect. In a hybrid powertrain, the engine and electric motor may reach their peak outputs at different speeds, while the total output is limited by the battery, inverter and control software. SAIC has not yet announced the system’s combined power.

Parameter

Data as of 10.08.2026

Engine

Naturally aspirated petrol, 1.5 litres; 82 kW and 135 N·m

Traction motor

Front-mounted; 152 kW and 302 N·m

Drive

Front-wheel drive

Electric range

245 km, CLTC

Claimed total range

1,745 km

Top speed

170 km/h

Traction battery

Supplier: CATL and SAIC joint venture; capacity and chemistry for this version have not been confirmed

Charging

Power and charging time not disclosed

Price

Not announced

What a 245 km electric range means in practice

245 km is a result from the CLTC certification cycle, not a guaranteed distance for every trip. Actual range depends on speed, air temperature, heating or air conditioning use, terrain, payload and battery condition. A plug-in hybrid adds another factor: the vehicle decides when to start the petrol engine.

How to assess whether this PHEV suits your routes

  1. Compare your daily mileage not with 245 km, but with a more conservative scenario that accounts for cold weather and motorway driving.

  2. Check whether you can charge the car regularly at home or at work. Without regular charging, the advantage of a large battery is significantly reduced.

  3. Wait for fuel-consumption data with a depleted battery: this will show how the car behaves on longer journeys.

  4. Do not transfer the CLTC result directly to the European WLTP cycle. As the European Environment Agency explains, laboratory figures are primarily intended for comparing vehicles, while real-world driving produces different results.

The claimed 1,745 km should not be interpreted as a promise that the car can cover that distance without stopping. It is a calculated figure for specific test conditions with a full battery and a full fuel tank. The tank capacity and the method used to obtain this figure were not detailed in the published listing.

Dimensions and interior

The MG 07 is 4,886 mm long, 1,900 mm wide and 1,478 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,825 mm. These figures match Chinese certification data and the official MG 07 family page. The model features frameless doors, a sloping roof, a large liftback tailgate and an active spoiler.

The published PHEV equipment list includes a panoramic roof, heated and ventilated front seats, 50 W wireless charging and 256-colour ambient lighting. The driver has an 8.88-inch display, while a 15.6-inch 2.5K-resolution screen is mounted in the centre of the dashboard.

What is the difference between the Comfort and LiDAR versions?

The name 245 LiDAR Edition itself confirms that the higher-grade version has a laser scanner. MG had previously announced the Momenta R7 suite for the MG 07, along with a navigation-assisted driving system for urban areas and travel “from parking space to parking space”. However, the full sensor list and the precise distribution of functions between the Comfort and LiDAR versions of the hybrid have not yet been published.

LiDAR expands the amount of data collected about the vehicle’s surroundings, but it does not turn the car into a self-driving vehicle. The driver remains responsible for controlling the car, while the availability of individual functions depends on the software, maps and regulations in each market.

What to find out before buying

  • usable battery capacity and its chemistry;

  • AC and DC charging power;

  • charging time and fuel consumption with a depleted battery;

  • the PHEV’s combined power and acceleration performance;

  • equipment for each of the two versions and warranty terms;

  • the final price and delivery start date.

Will the MG 07 PHEV be sold outside China?

SAIC describes the MG 07 as part of the brand’s updated electrified range, but it has not yet announced the markets, dates or specifications for an export version. Chinese trim names, CLTC figures and equipment cannot automatically be applied to a future vehicle for Europe or other regions.

The MG 07 PHEV’s launch outside China had not been confirmed as of August 10, 2026. Until an official announcement is made, the Chinese price of the electric version also should not be used to estimate the hybrid’s price: they have different powertrains and different specifications.

Verdict

The MG 07 PHEV stands out with a claimed electric range that is substantial for a plug-in hybrid, combined with a practical fastback body. Its dimensions, engine and electric-motor specifications, two trim levels and key interior features are already known. Four crucial figures are still missing for a meaningful comparison with other PHEVs: battery capacity, charging speed, fuel consumption with a depleted battery and price. These details will show how useful the impressive figures from the Chinese catalogue are in everyday driving.

Popular MG models

HS113ZS66MG324Cyberster9MGB8One6MG45MGS5 EV / ES55TF25502625232RX51J-type Midget1GT1
Ready to take the next step?
Explore hundreds of listings from verified dealers and private sellers. Smart filters, detailed car pages, and real-time updates - everything you need to make the right choice.
View All Cars

Other articles

Klaus Zellmer to Lead Volvo: When Will He Start?
News
Volvo Chooses Škoda Chief as Its Next CEO: When Klaus Zellmer Will Actually Start
September 21, 2026
New Nissan Skyline: December Debut and AI-Assisted Development
News
New Nissan Skyline Set for December Debut: How AI Cut Development Nearly in Half
September 20, 2026
McLaren Plans Its First SUV and In-House Engines
News
McLaren Changes Course: Its First SUV, In-House Engines and a New Factory
September 19, 2026
Ford F-150 2027: New V6 and BlueCruise Towing
News
Ford F-150 2027: New Base V6 and BlueCruise with Towing—Where the Limits Are
September 18, 2026
Volkswagen Mission Efficiency: 1,278 km with One Charging Stop
German cars
News
Volkswagen Mission Efficiency: What Lies Behind 1,278 km with One Charging Stop
September 17, 2026
Kia PV7: What We Know About the Cargo and Passenger Versions
Korean Automotive Industry
News
Kia PV7: How Many People and How Much Cargo Can the New Electric Van Carry?
September 16, 2026
eBay Airbag Sales Ban Takes Effect September 24
News
eBay to Ban Airbag Sales: What Changes on September 24
September 15, 2026
XPeng GX Styled as a Range Rover: What We Know
Chinese cars
News
XPeng GX Turned into a “Range Rover”: What Changed and What Remains Unknown
September 14, 2026
Mercedes-AMG CLE 646: V8, Rear-Wheel Drive and New Chassis
German cars
News
Mercedes-AMG CLE 646: What Changed with the Return of the V8
September 13, 2026
Volvo XC40, EX40 and EC40 Updated: Key Changes
News
Volvo Updates the XC40, EX40 and EC40: What Changed After Nine Years
September 12, 2026
257.116 active cars
31.681 cars added today
17.498 sold cars last 24 hours
5.960 visits last month
2 visits last 24 hours
  • Cars
  • About us
  • Blog
  • Contacts
  • [email protected]
© 2026 zvelta
© 2026 zvelta
Terms of UsePrivacy PolicyInfo for dealers
Get it on Google PlayDownload on the App Store